Sub Group 4:

Green Energy Corridor and Grid Management


Chairs und Stakeholders:

  • Chairperson India:
    Shri S. Selvakumar, Joint Secretary, Department of Economic Affairs (DEA), Ministry of Finance (MoF),
  • Chairperson Germany:
    Dr. Wolfram Klein, Head of Division India and South Asia, Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ)
  • Stakeholders:
    Technology providers, investors, research institutes
  • Government organisations:
    GIZ, KFW, Powergrid Corporation of India, Ministry of Finance (DEA), Ministry of New and Renewable Energy (MNRE), National Institute of Wind (NIWE), Rajasthan Rajya Vidyut Prasaran Nigam Ltd. (RVPN)

Activities so far

  • New SUB-GROUP “GREEN ENERGY CORRIDORS AND GRID MANAGEMENT” was established on 11 February 2015
  • Three major topics of general interest have been identified by the stakeholders for further discussion under SG 4: i) Grid Management, ii) Market Design, iii) Technical Standards and Grid Code.
  • “Terms of References” were identified of an Indo-German Core Group. The Core-Group members were from the following institutions: CEA, POSOCO, MNRE, KFW, GIZ, BMWi, and BMZ. “ToR” were accepted by the Co-Chairs of the Forum.
  • Proposed working groups:
    • Environmental and social assessments
    • Standard tender procedures
      • Storage and communication
  • German government institutions and KfW are willing to examine further funding opportunities beyond the current loan arrangements

Planned activities

  • Next subgroup meeting proposed for 19 May 2016, New Delhi